Working it out

Posted by Linda

Conflict! There are plenty of opportunities to work out conflict in these highly agitated times. Or Not! I have read so many stories of people not speaking to family members any more, or of friendships and even marriages breaking apart over different ideas about what is going on in our political atmosphere these days. It’s really interesting how one man, albeit a very powerful, one can create such calamity. Many people, including myself, have very strong opinions about how our country is being run and by whom. Most of my friends and I agree about the subject in question, but not everyone and not every family member.

When it comes to a disagreement with someone that I don’t know very well, I might choose to let them go, but it has to be a fairly major difference, most likely in the area of honor or integrity. After all, we have heard so many times not to surround ourselves with toxic people. Under normal circumstances, the need to distance ourselves doesn’t happen very often, but it’s different now, with raw and strong emotions being elicited in our country.

However, I love a few of the people with whom I disagree. What is the best way to deal with this situation. First, I might feel irritated and if I allowed the irritation to continue, it could eventually lead to an irreversible break up of our relationship. So I learn the art of self soothing and eventually I can think clearly enough to make a decision about the relationship. If I choose to stay, I remind myself first, that this is a part of the way that they are, and that there are many other parts that I appreciate and love. And then, taking my time, and not being controlled by fear or anger, I decide.

Peace and love, that is my heart’s desire. Please contact me if you would like assistance finding yours.

Leave a Reply

